The origin of the population is found in 1381, when Ruy Perez de Esquivel obtained the royal authorization to found El Coronil with a population of 15 families. The population stands out for having two castles and buildings and unique places, such as:
- Castle of the Villa. Built on the foundation of the village on previous remains. In its interior, it conserves some fragments of polychromies of s. XVI in the tower of the homage and from 1884 a corral of neighbours with galleries and columns of cast iron.
- Castle of the Aguzaderas. Built in the s. XV and located 3 kms away. From the town (on the A-376, towards Montellano). It is a fortress on Arab foundations, declared National Monument in 1923, standing out for its unique location in a trough and for its good state of conservation. Its mission was to protect the spring of water, existing a series of towers around that conform an interesting defensive system in the enclave called ‘band morisca’.
- Church of Our Lady of Consolation. It has its origin almost at the same time as the town was founded, in the 15th centrury. The church is Mudejar style, although with later reforms. The current building dates from the 18 th century and presents a neoclassic style. Its true wealth lies on the interior, where you can find interesting images, paintings and rich goldsmith works.
- Palatial house of D. Diego Quebrado. It was donated by its owners in 1766 for the installation of public schools. Nowadays it houses the House of Culture, the municipal library and a model of the Plaza de España in Seville.
- Town Hall. With vocation of public building since its construction in the 16th century has a coffered ceiling in the living room that alternates wood with ceramic pieces. You can see some archaeological workpieces distributed throughout the interior.
- Chapel of the Vera Cross. From the s. XVII to the XIX it hosted the Convent of Discalced Carmelitas, the main saint, circumstance that is reflected in the distribution of the current building. It is a carved crucifix attributed to the school of Martínez Montañés back in late 16th century.
- Hermitage of El Calvario. Located in a rock outcrop in the upper area of the village, it has a 1980 carving of Ntro. Father Jesus Cautivo de Francisco Berlanga de Avila.
Other unique places are the Pozo Morisco, Casa de la Marcela, El Pilar, Los Remedios Chapel, Manor Houses, Casa Emilio, Torres de Almazaras, Casa del peón caminero and the Fresnadilla Social Gardens.
- Dehesa de Pilares. A redoubt of Mediterranean forest, an ecosystem that surrounded El Coronil before allocating its lands to crop. It is 4 kms away, where you can reach in a pleasant walk.
- Urban Parks. They include the Barranco, Tahonas, Calvario, Arroyo del Pilar, De los Colores or Tenis, Plaza Nueva, De los Molinos, Melena del Sur, Vereda de Arcos, Swimming pool.
- Easter. Of particular importance are the processional parades of La Borriquita and those of La Hdad. Of El Calvario (Holy Wednesday), Ntro. Father Jesus (Holy Thursday) and Hdad. Of the True Cross (Good Friday).
- Cultural and Gastronomic Route. It is celebrated in Spring.
- Pilgrimage in the Dehesa de Pilares. A festival that stands out for the coexistence between neighbors and the welcome to outsiders to enjoy it with joy. It is held the second weekend of May.
- Feria de San Roque. It is the most popular festival. It is celebrated on August 15 in honor of its patron San Roque.
Among its most traditional delicacies include the asparagus sausage and, depending on the season, omelettes or stews of wild asparagus, Spanish oyster thistles and snails. As far as baked goods are concerned, porridge, bacon and fritters. The bread rolls of San Roque are renowned and are only made at specific times.
It is necessary to mention the Popular race that is celebrated in April.
Other aspects to highlight
The Coronil is part of the Route of the Castles. Witness of the Reconquest. In addition to hosting in its municipal term, part of the route of the Green Route of the Sierra, since late 2014 the town is part of the Camino de Santiago Vía Serrana. This route has its beginning in the field of Gibraltar, arriving in Utrera. The pilgrims go in El Coronil through the Castillo de las Aguzaderas, following the road marked with tiles with the yellow shell and continue through Vereda de Arcos, C / Torbi, Avda. De Andalucía, C / Cura Barranco, C / Corredera, C / Iglesia, Pza. De la Constitución and Vereda de Molares.